Posted in Uncategorized

The Best Day

Marriage. What a wonderful part of life! Derek and I officially met in 2013 after he returned form a 2 year mission in Mexico. He was tan, blonde, had a strong Mexican accent, and oh- those gorgeous blue eyes! I was 17 and had a boyfriend though, so I couldn’t let anyone know I was crushing on him!

A couple months passed and said boyfriend and I broke up…I was now 18 and summer set in when we found ourselves at a going away party for a mutual family friend leaving for college. That’s where it all began.  He needed a ride home and asked my parents, that car ride I wanted to talk to him but had no clue what the heck to even say! So I said nothing.  That night he sent me a message on Facebook.

A few weeks passed as our friendship grew and he asked me on a date! He took me to the Spaghetti Factory, then to a skate and bowl. The date ended with a hug on my parents front porch. I had so much fun with him and he treated me so kindly so I texted him that I had fun and couldn’t wait to go out again!
kisssA few more months passed and we talked about marriage… the talks became more and more serious. Eight months later, June 25th 2014, Derek proposed at Temple Square in Salt Lake City, Utah!

We decided to have a long engagement to be able to have more time to spend in the “easy” part before life expenses came along.

On September 12th 2015, Derek and I got sealed for time and eternity in the Seattle Washington Temple!

I remember the day like a fairy tale. Everything was bright and perfect. The sky was clear, my dress was beautifully covered in lace applique with buttons down the back. The dress flowed beautifully into a fuller skirt covering my ivory and aqua cowgirl boots. My hair was curled and loosely pulled into a twist, flowing down my back.

bridal Our reception was in my parents back yard. I’m so happy I chose to have it there. My parents are moving to their dream home soon. I grew up playing in that yard, It was beautiful with flowers and trees all around. What a perfect way to leave home!

At the reception, we played the shoe-ly-wed game. Basically the bride and groom sit back to back and someone reads questions(funny questions!) like, “who sucks the worst at driving?” and you raise whoever’s shoe  is the answer! (In this case we both raised my boot)

We danced, I danced with my dad, Derek danced with his mom…but then they surprised us all with a crazy choreographed dance half way through it!

We ate ice cream instead of cake and then left with a sparkler exit to “Talk Dirty To Me” by Poison. We left our perfect day traveling in my dads Volkswagen bug to set off on our honeymoon!car kiss

This was the best day of my life so far and along with the wonderful commitment I made, it also marks the start of my new life. I’m a married woman and I’ve learned so many great things since I married this man!

Feel free to subscribe for exclusive content!

XOXO,

Mrs. Welton

Author:

I'm a mom of a rainbow baby girl, Chanel. Wife to a smart, hilarious man, Derek. I'm a photographer, a runner, and I'm just trying to figure out how life as a new mommy works!

Leave a Reply

